Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Back on track

I have been working with Rachelle Wood since September 2010. A nutritionist who also offers an online weight loss program, she shares her journey including the trials of trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle while loving all foods. Never judging and always supportive Rachelle is a wonderful coach especially one-on-one. You will be held accountable for your choices but helped work through the cravings. I was able to follow her plan without hunger pains.

Rock bottom happened last summer when I could not finish a game of frisbee golf with my family. It was a hot muggy day, my sinuses were filled up as usual. Halfway through the game I had to go sit in the van because I could not breathe. Enough is enough I needed to get my weight and health under control. I have always been a bit cheap when it comes to weight loss programs, figuring that if I just focused on my eating and exercise the weight would come off. Overweight at 37, I had to admit I could not do it on my own.

Biting the bullet I paid for a session with Rachelle. The Holistic Iridology Reading  was where I began. You sit in a chair while Rachelle stares into your eyes. A bit disconcerting as I do not think anyone has ever stared into my eyes for so long, but she pointed out many of my issues. I have had gastrointestinal issues for years, Rachelle picked up on the problems, along with a few other issues that I had not mentioned to her. My reading included written recommendations for diet, supplementation and lifestyle change. She recommended that I omit dairy, gluten, nightshades (potato, tomato, peppers, eggplant, rhubarb, and tobacco), and acidic foods from my diet. I also had to start taking a few supplements, including liquid calcium as I was not absorbing any from all the milk I drank. Generous person that she is, I was told that when I had to cheat with gluten. This was the first person who acknowledged that cheats will happen don’t feel guilty just move on. I was skeptical but willing to try anything.

Starting the lifestyle change and sticking to the initial menu was the hardest.  I did not always stay on track. My health did change rather quickly considering how hard I found it to keep some things out of my diet. I stopped waking up unable to breathe, had full night sleep for the first time in years, and had energy in the evenings. My husband and I would go for walks and chat about the day. It amazed me how quickly my life changed. No medication just diet modification.

Once I started to feel healthy, I was able to link some of my health issues to particular food cheats. For example, eating dairy gives me the symptoms of a head cold. Once I knew this and that ice cream was was the worst culprit, sometimes it was still worth the cheat. I was in control over my symptoms and my diet. I feel like I am ready to face whatever comes my way and that I can do it with a bit of help from my friends.

Thank you Rachelle!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

