Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Family focused Saturday

There are not many slow Saturdays for us. My baby, Bicca, and I were the only two up early. We decided to go to a pancake breakfast before her choir practice. The Dunstaffenage 4H club was hosting a pancake breakfast with proceeds to support Japan relief efforts. Knowing how important it is to get people at pancake breakfast, enjoying some mother-daughter time,  and loving breakfast made us kind of hyper on the way there. It was a beautiful day. We were pleased to be up early enjoying it.

Half-way there I realized that I should have checked out where the hall was. Bicca was talking a mile a minute, while I was madly scanning for the hall. I should not have worried, the 4H kids were on the front lawn waving traffic in for breakfast. There were so many volunteers and a nice crowd for a small community early on a Saturday morning. At the table, Bicca started with apple juice and a chocolate chip muffin. I got a coffee and orange juice to drink. We were still talking about how great that was  enjoying muffins and cheese, when a couple of girls brought us our pancakes, sausage, and orange slice. Yes, I cheated on the gluten free part of my lifestyle change, but hey it was our morning. It was so yummy and fun to have some girl time. We ate quickly as we had to get back to Cornwall for nine-thirty choir practice.

Later, Hubby and I stopped at Bluefield Natural Products Meat Shop in North River. My parents were coming for a BBQ and we wanted some great island grown organic beef. The service there is wonderful. They suggested some steak rolled with bacon, sirloin steak, and healthy hot dogs. At home, we added potatoes, and salad to the meal (I did not cheat and have potatoes, although the kids said they were amazing). An enjoyable afternoon of visiting and cooking was shared. I love a big family supper. All the kids got to enjoy time with us, although my oldest had to leave for work shortly after we finished eating.

Topping off the afternoon, hubby’s parents stopped by for a quick chat in the yard. We were able to catch up on what was going on and plan for our Easter Saturday celebration in Summerside. Before I went out to enjoy the ECMAs, hubby and I watched one of our favorite shows, then I grabbed what I had planned to be quick nap. When I awoke I realized that I had probably missed the people I’d hoped to meet.

My baby boy and I headed off to UPEI for stargazing. It was cloudy but I did not have the heart to tell him that we may not see anything. He was very chatty all the way in, as the middle child, he loves one on one time together. Many parents of teens will realize what a treat it is to actually get to hear what is going on with your teen. We met friends on campus and spent time chatting before heading up to the observatory. It turned out that all we could see was the moon and even it was unclear. He still enjoyed seeing the telescope and fooling around with everyone who was there.

This slow Saturday ended up be family filled fun.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

