Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Almond Milk Chocolate Pudding (no sugar)

Our recent trip south followed by Easter preparation and celebration totally derailed my new healthy lifestyle. Starting this Tuesday, I am back tracking my food and exercise with www.myfitnesspal.com. I have made it to the gym once this week and went for a walk once. Better than nothing but not near where I need to be. My craving for chocolate is bad and at night I am weakest so I need something to satisfy it without a big cheat.

It is really interesting how once I am into to program, I love it and feel so much better. Self-sabotage seems to be my middle name right now. (All the chocolate does not help either). Monday I did well most of the day but then night eating was back. Today, I am off milk, and gluten (mostly). Now I am working on my nemesis again… the nightshades (bell peppers, tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant, and rhubarb). I love them all. Before this change I would have them at least three times a day. Now I am to avoid them. It sucks, but nightshades cause many problems, such as joint pain, and stomach pain. They also deplete the body of Calcium. Since, I am not absorbing calcium properly and have cut out dairy; I should avoid nightshades.

There are so many great foods that I can have. If I focus on that then I am less cranky about the loss. In an effort to stay on track, I made my homemade Almond Milk Chocolate Pudding without sugar. Allowing me to indulge my chocolate craving without going off my diet. It looked perfect when it was finished. (So good that my daughter wanted to take it to school, until she tasted it. My baby has her mother’s sweet tooth.) I just had the pudding for my snack. It was wonderful with a banana but definitely not for someone who has been eating sugar regularly.

Here is the recipe that I modified from Hershey’s Classic Recipes
1/4 cup    cocoa
3 TBSP     cornstarch
1/4 tsp     salt
2 1/4 cups almond milk
I used Blue Diamond vanilla almond 90 calories per cup so it is a bit sweet. I did not add the tsp vanilla extract. But I added just a couple of drops of peppermint extract for a cool after taste.
Stir together cocoa, cornstarch and salt in medium saucepan; gradually stir in milk. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture boils; boil and stir 1 minute. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla if desired.
Pour into individual dessert dishes. Press plastic wrap directly onto surface (if the slight skin on surface bothers you), refrigerate.
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

