Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Legislation Review

I took a job with our provincial government in March. It came up suddenly and involved review of legislation. The money was good and it was with a Department that I always wanted to work for, so I took it. I must admit I did not think that I would actually enjoy it.

Research is research. I’ve worked in many academic departments using various research methodologies, but, I have never before worked for government. I have learned about new databases, such as CanLII, figured out why my neighbour, a farmer, keeps asking if I want to plant trees to obstruct my water view. In short, it’s been fun digging through databases, and literature to determine what is being done worldwide. Fun… at work… novel concept. This Monday I meet with the group to present what I have done. We will see if I had too much fun or if they like what they see.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

