Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Rainy Spring

Although the rainy spring is killing my plans for my flower beds and garden. It is heaven for me to get time to finish up some of my knitting projects. I am going to take a few pictures to show you what I am trying to finish up and will link to the Ravelry patterns for the other knitting nuts out there.

The most urgent of my projects is a dinosaur sweater for my nephew. His birthday was last week. I am late again. I modified and combined from two patterns. The Steppe Sweater by Irina Makarow. The collar is so sweet and I had a few balls of bulky yarn in my stash. However, he absolutely is dinosaur crazy. The sweater is a solid black with a Patons green variegated dinosaur. The mean green dino by Mandy Powers provided the chart for the dinosaur. It is knitting up so quickly and so cute. I cannot wait to finish it.

I am also on the last sleeve of my son’s hoodie. I based it on a pattern that I had saved off yarn I bought years ago. It is the Hooded Sweatshirt #217 by Bernat Design Studio. We got our wires crossed when talking about colours. He wanted it all yellow with a brown stripe. I knit it with brown as the main colour using Briggs and Little Heritage yarn. It should be great for him while camping with the Air Cadets. It has to be finished for spring camping. I think this month.

Finally, before summer I am hoping to finish my first lace project. It is a shawl for a friend of mine. I based it on a Spring Lace by Martingale & Company pattern card I purchased at MacAusland’s Woolen Mill in PEI. I had hoped to be able to send it at Easter but since I am only about half finished my new hope is to finish it by the end of June. We shall see.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

