Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Bowen Therapy WOW!

Bowen is a new type of therapy for me. My year of focusing on my health has led me to try a new diet that is working, so I am much more open to new things. A twitter friend @wellbanancedpei, is a registered therapist who does the Bowen technique.  It is a very gentle technique which allows your own body to do the work. The moves are done then the therapist leaves the room for a couple of minutes. Every few minutes she came back to do something else. There is no music and very little talking. I think it is one of the most relaxing massages that I have ever experienced. I may have fallen asleep a couple of times. I had interesting sensations of heat while waiting between moves. Last night pain and tingling moved around my body, but the bottom line is my hips are not hurting at all after one session… Whoo hoo!!!

Of course the scientist in me had to find out — How Bowen works

Several mechanisms have been postulated as to how the Bowen Technique works. The basic Bowen “move” distorts a muscle or tendon that is not under load and then rolls over it at a precise location without sliding on the skin. As a result, the spindle cells and Golgi tendon organs down-regulate the muscle’s resting tension level via the central nervous system. The surrounding fascia becomes less solid and more fluid, allowing greater movement of blood and lymph through the tissue, and enhancing nutrition to and waste removal from the site of injury. The lack of distracting skin stimulation and the limited number of precise moves focus the nervous system’s attention on the essential points. Pausing at certain crucial times in a sequence of such moves allows time for the nervous system and fascia to respond and begin the healing process. The body continues to respond for several days afterward unless interrupted by injury or strong external stimulation, including trauma, heat and bodywork. (http://www.bowendirectory.com/?p=4&ID=213&d=1)

1 Comment»

  Christine wrote @

i’m trying it now for my joint issues…quite excited about it!


Leave a Reply

