Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Getting back on my eating plan & Forgotten Cookies

I have been feeling a bit guilty. I just posted on a friend’s blog that she should stick to her gluten-free plan. There are so many new choices out there. I even sent my new favorite gluten-free cookie that I can have. It has meringue base with the original adding chocolate chips. The first time I made it I threw in Hershey’s Skor Chipits. {I know I probably should not have them but they were in my cooking cupboard tempting me}. The result was a VERY sweet cookie. The kids loved but I found to be a bit much so I modified it taking out some sugar and adding gluten-free cocoa.

Modified Forgotten Cookie

4 egg whites

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup cocoa

Preheat oven to 375F. Mix cocoa and sugar together. Beat egg whites until foamy. Slowy add sugar mixture. Beat on high until stiff peaks form. Drop cookies on cookie sheet covered with parchment paper (or waxed paper). I usually use a teaspoon. Put cookies in oven. Turn oven off but do not open. Leave for at least 5 hours.

I do love ’em. Mine looked similar to Demon Cook’s Chocolate Macroons. I will have to try them.

Back to feeling guilty. Even though I told her to stick with it, I have been cheating on my diet all weekend. I did give up. Honestly I was tired of it always being about planning my food. Result is that I have been paying for it in itchiness and GI issues since Sunday. It will take at least a week for my body to get back to being healthy. Probably why I was so agressive telling her to stick to her plan.

I do not always stick to my meal plan, but I do know the importance of trying and

2 Comments»

  Cindy Of PEI wrote @

Sometimes it is hard, and sometimes you have to give yourself a break sort of as a reward. I know I spent two months, recording, exercise minutes, calories, protein, and blood sugar. I took 2 weeks off and watched what i did but didn’t record, now I’m finding it hard to get back on track and record. When I record I feel more accountable to “when the elbow bends the mouth opens” syndrome

Have a wonderful weekend, stop by some time for a visit http://goo.gl/kc6bo

  cherylcan wrote @

Agreed. I am now trying to track food again but got out of the habit.


Leave a Reply

