Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Delectable Dining at Café Maplethorpe

Historic Café Maplethorpe, in Bedeque, is offering an amazing deal on Thursday nights in July 2011. If you are seated between 5 and 6 pm you can enjoy their three course meal deal two for the price of one! As if that is not enough they are also offering a special treat for parents with children 3+ by offering up to two hours of supervised complimentary, supervised child care while parents dine. Reservations are required so that adequate staff is available. Call 887-2909 or toll-free 866-770-2909. Thanks to the Island Family Magazine for advertising the deal in its July issue.

The Café was featured in “Where to Eat in Canada 2011′ and won the “Taste Our Island Award”. My husband and I went last night. I love that they offer gluten-free and locally grown food, so I can enjoy their food guilt free. It was a beautiful evening for the 30 minute drive from Charlottetown. I was so excited as my girlfriends and I had been there shortly after it opened and I have wanted to return ever since and could not wait to share this gem with my husband. We were seated quickly and poured over the menu. I cannot believe that they can offer such fare at the prices listed. Check out the menu at http://www.cafemaplethorpe.com

My gluten, cow’s milk and nightshade free diet can be a nightmare to go out to eat. After the usual what do you eat question, our server was extremely accommodating going to the kitchen a few times to ask about items I ordered. My first surprise was the gluten free bread before our appetizers. She even apologized that it was not fresh today! I love that I could have bread with my meal, and it was good, so good. All the appetizers looked good but I chose the spinach, raspberry and goat cheese salad while hubby had the Bacon and Chipotle stuffed mushrooms. Both of us loved our choices. My salad had such fresh pecans and melt in your mouth cheese. He raved about the mushrooms. We had the Pellar Estates Shiraz house wine to compliment our meal. We both went with the steak for the main course. I was able to modify to rice instead of potatoes. The steak was done to perfection with light seasoning but the fresh beets where my favorite part of the main meal. Poor Tim lost his serving too. For dessert I chose the plum pudding which is naturally gluten free without the ice cream. I loved it but not nearly as much as Tim loved the brownie sundae. The warm brownie with ice cream and whipped cream was a real hit. I had a coffee to finish up. There was no rush and we took our time over the meal. I cannot wait to go back.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

