Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

2011 PEI Organic Harvest Festival

Sunday I was fortunate to attend the 8th annual PEI Organic Harvest Festival. It was amazing! We were entertained by Katie McGarry, who I first heard at Harmony House, and Ashley Condon, from “Come All Ye” and other venues across PEI. I would have paid just to hear them. At $35 for adults with children under 12 free, the food and entertainment was so worth it.

I must admit the draw for me was Ilona Daniel from DB Brickhouse. I reviewed DB Brickhouse in May and it has been one of my favorites ever since. Ilona and Tyler Gallant, from Mavor’s Bistro along with volunteers from the culinary institute prepared the Organic Harvest Meal Menu. My favorites included the beet salad with sherry vinaigrette and arugula, the country carrot salad, lamb rogan Josh curry and naan bread from the wood fired oven, and the baked apple. The berry juice was so good I drank my first glass before I even got back to the table. I finished the evening with Lady Baker’s Tea Trolley raspberry tea.

Where was I for those first 7 years? Obviously missing out on a great evening of food, entertainment, and camaraderie. It will not happen again. I plan to every year.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

