Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Gratitude and Family Gathering

Written on Thanksgiving weekend 2011

This year I have so much to be grateful for. Our marriage is very close, although we may not always agree we can discuss issues and do respect our diverse interests and work. My oldest has started university and is doing well. My two youngest are in junior high. Having fun and participating in their various interests. However, the weekend was a bit different because both my parents and my in-laws were out of town.

We planned two big dinners; one for Saturday and one for Sunday. On Saturday night we had smoked ham and scalloped potatoes. My aunt came bearing dessert. Her homemade butterscotch pie. Wow it was amazing. The whole meal was wonderful. Spending the day around home cleaning and preparing a large meal really made me appreciate our home and immediate family. My baby had a friend over and made carrot muffins to share too. We had such lively discussions and were entertained with a preteen fashion show.

On Sunday, it was so warm and beautiful that we gave up on housecleaning. Hubby and I enjoyed the deck while the turkey roasted. There is something so good about the smell permeating the entire house and drifting across the yard. I even made sausage dressing with sausages from Clow’s. Yummy.

Monday we ate leftovers. The whole family was able to get together to go apple picking and for a hike on the Strathgartney Nature Trail. I need to get out to enjoy nature more.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

