Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Secret Daughter

Every once in awhile a book comes along that reminds me why I write. Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda is one of these.

I picked up the book at the library last night. It was so engaging that I read all evening and woke this morning to finish it. I loved the characters’ many perspectives which gave such depth to the novel. There are so many levels to this book I feel I will not do it justice, but for me it is about family. Family who is there with you, whether you think you need them or not. Family who we think misunderstands us but who loves us no matter what. It also provided my newest favorite quote about marriage:

“… the key to a successful marriage was for each spouse to give as much as they possibly could. And  then, to give a little more. Somewhere in that extra giving, in the space created by generosity without score keeping, was the difference between marriages that thrived, and those that didn’t.”

If you read one book in 2012, this should be it. Enjoy!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

