Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Research Consultant

Last week I took the plunge. Officially, I am a research consultant and work from my home. It is kind of scary not having a pension, health plan, or other benefits. But then again it is freeing. I am doing work I am really interested in with http://www.n3xt.ca. Plus, I can work in my PJs, or yoga pants most days.

Since Friday I have been working from home, but today I realized that I needed to set up a proper work space. I had been using a little stool in the cramped office/guest room/sewing room/catch all space in our house. Today I had enough. It was not working. I could not concentrate. Even I who historically has worked on the floor in a pile of papers had to admit defeat. I could not concentrate or work efficiently in the space I had set up. Frankly, it sucked. When we set up the space it was primarily a guest room to be used as an office for a couple of hours at a time in the evening or on weekends.

After sitting there most of two days, I was uncomfortable, and my back hurt. Those that know me realize I went for years with back issues until Stott Pilates cured me. Now I baby my back. My friend Sheena fit me in for a massage on short notice. She said that I was really doing a number on my left side. Something had to be done. My poor hubby came home from a busy day at work to help me move furniture around the office. It now flows properly for work. A proper desk chair supports my back. Tomorrow will be a better day.I have my work space and my living space separate but together.

By the way if you are looking to have any research done. Contact me at http://www.cherylannwartman.com

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

