Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Time to Step Off The Beaten Path

I surprised my husband on his 30th birthday with an all inclusive vacation. I had booked his time off and we left for an all inclusive resort for sun and relaxation. It is over ten years since then. We have stayed at many different resorts in the years since. Moving up the scale from 3 star to five star resorts. I have had my favorites over the years, the following come to mind right now (but I am sure I am forgetting some great spots):

Our first spot Puerto Plata Village. Some great memories and amazing staff in the Playa Doranda complex Puerto Plata Dominican Republic.

The Breezes Bella Costa in Veradero Cuba. We got upgraded to a suite with an amazing balcony and sitting room. I also loved the pizza at lunch.

The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton near Montego Bay Jamaica has an amazing spa and adults only section. We were only able to afford this the year they were undergoing renovations.

This year is our 20th anniversary. I really want to have a vacation that will give me a more local feel. Maybe a smaller resort or renting a villa for our entire group. I may need something that gives me some more local flavor. I am leaning towards Jamaica, as I love the coffee and jerk chicken. Does anyone have a suggestion that might take me off the beaten path but still be budget conscious?

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

