Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Review — The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

There was so much buzz about this book I just had to read it. Who has not been on a train and thought about the people in the homes you are passing by? The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins starts with our primary narrator Rachel telling us about a couple she passes by daily on her way to work and makes up stories about. It all seemed rather run of the mill to me at first.

The story jumps to a year in the past and Megan. I liked the back and forth but began to distrust what Rachel was telling me. I almost put the book down at this point. Generally, I do not like books with a lying narrator but I gave it a chance and am so glad I did. I do not want to spoil the trill of the ride but suffice to say that the twists and turns are good and all the stories come together in the end.

I love thrillers and like the great thrillers I find this book speaking to me at the oddest moments. Making me wonder if the characters could have done anything to change the outcome. If you like thrillers, wounded characters, and stories that are more gray than black and white. This one will stick with you long after you put it down.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

