Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

INFJ and My Writing

I just read Andrea Wegner’s post on how people with my personality type approach writing. It mostly fits me, although in school I had no problems with outlines. Now, I must admit I do not use them when preparing my posts, but that may be a product of the fact that I am trying to be less formal and academic here.

However, I do need to learn to let go of the editor in me while writing first drafts. My NaNoWriMo writing is falling victim to too much editing and not enough new writing. I will have to fix that this weekend. I also am energized by small groups not large.

Overall the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator works to identify my go to preferences. INFJ means that I prefer: Introversion over extroversion, intuition over sensation, feelings over thinking, and judgements over perception. Preference is relative. I can do extroverted things but I get revitalized by doing things alone or in small groups. My though process is abstract. Even my kids know to interpret what I say. “You know what I meant” is my mantra. Trusting my gut is becoming more and more what I do as experience has taught me that my feelings tend to be bang on. Most times when I get in trouble, I have ignored that feeling. Closure is very important to me. I think it is one of the reasons I love knitting so much. I can start a little project and finish it in a day or a weekend. So much of my work and my writing take much more time. I believe I should set smaller writing goals so I can say “Finished!” more often. I might get more productive that way.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

