Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Knitting Projects

I did so may projects over Christmas but my big one was for a New Year’s Eve (NYE) bride. She chose the Patons Shoulder Shrug pattern and the recommended yarn, Patons North American Shetland Chunky. I do not usually like the feel of acrylic yarns but this one was
15870544_10157851558325411_429973745_nfine for me. It might have helped that it was 25% wool. I made the XL size. It actually came out bang on the stated measurements. The only issue I found was working three different cable patterns meant that I had to track each row for each of the three different sized cables. Also, I am getting older and knitting the navy on dark evenings meant I spent lots of time using my Ott Light. It was not a portable project for me so took a bit longer to finish than I expected. The result was beautiful. She loved it so it was worth it.

The other knitting project that I finished between Christmas and NYE was Peggy’s scarf. It is another pattern from the Take Heart book by Fiona Alice. Fiona Alice’s patterns are so 15110859_10157589191025411_3877968119596935014_owell written that I really enjoy making them. I already posted this picture but I am waiting to get a picture of Peggy wearing the scarf. I used Heidi’s by Hand wool from London-Wul. It is a wool/silk mix and some of the softest yarn I have used. I love it. The scarf was really long. When Peggy put it on it almost reached the floor (when she did not wrap it). I hope she uses it for many years to come.

Last week I was sick so I finished up some other projects that have been hanging over my head. I really loved the socks I made with Knit Picks Felici in the mixed berry colours. Also, I caved and started my own sock yarn blanket. I am really pleased with it.

My knitting plans for 2017 are:

  • Finish up those WIPs or frog what I will not finish.
  • Clean up my “hidden stash” so that I know what I have.
  • Make myself a sweater for Knit East.
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

