Cherylcan's Blog

Life and Literature

Healing Shawls – Wrapping in Love

I have made four healing shawls in my knitting career. They are my labours of love. I make an intention for the person I am knitting it for and only knit on them when I have strength and love to put into the project.

They were all very personal projects for people experiencing illness and/or loss. I love to create symbolism that suits the person I am making them for.

image_medium2One of my favourite patterns to use for a healing shawl is the Arpeggio by Ilga Leja. An arpeggio is a broken chord where the notes rise and fall. It symbolizes the rise and fall of emotions as we deal with grief and/or loss of health. I always link the shawl and the colours that I use to symbolize the experience of the recipient. I have done one in pink and iridescent  plum, and the other in forest green and beige. I find that writing of the card that accompanies the gift can be as hard as the actual knitting with intention and strength.

Another pattern I have used is the Quaking Aspen Shawl by Courtney Kelley. The aspen is actually a group of organisms that have an intertwined root system underground that can lay dormant for years. I love the symbolism of drawing strength from community and recognizing that they grow at all times even in the coldest winter. It signifies strength to get through a difficult experience.

image_small2Finally, the first shawl that I made became a healing shawl. The many colours for the many aspects of the personality of the person we remembered. These projects of love and support help me to deal with the obstacles I encounter. I hope that they provide some comfort to the recipients. 10730959_10155288531940411_515899209126807267_n

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

