Made my own hummus for my knitters

Entertainment, gluten free, Nutrition

The crew is coming to my house for knitting tonight so I decided to do something special (usually by the end of the day I say “I have popcorn we can throw in the microwave.”). I had made my own sesame paste using toasted sesame seeds and some oil and I really wanted to make something with it soon. I could have ground it up a bit more but it turned out OK and I did not ruin my new hand blender. It smells so good!

IMG_1092Some of you may do this all the time but I had been buying my tahini and just decided to try making it. So simple.

I have been making my own hummus for a long time and have gotten good with just adding what I want. Since my knitting group has a variety of tastes I went with the basic hummus:

  • 1 can chickpeas,
  • 1/4 cup each of juice from the chickpeas, lemon juice, and tahini,
  • two cloves of garlic, and
  • salt and pepper to taste.

I had garlic scapes that I might have thrown in for my family but I am sure it would have made green hummus so decided against it for company. It looks great and even got approval from my baby who tasted it this morning for me.

IMG_1093The black is the ground pepper. I could have used other pepper but I was not thinking. It tastes amazing. Now to remember to pick up veggies when I go to the market at lunch.

 

Leave a comment