How to Knit A Dishcloth for Andrew

knitting

The other day I was at Papa Joe’s eating on my own. I love this spot because the food is excellent and the service is so good. One of the staff was very interested in what I was knitting and learning to knit. His name was Andrew. I was floored. The same name as my oldest who died in 2019. There are signs everywhere if you just look. I doubled in to making sure this Andrew learned to knit too.

We spoke about knitting. I said that I would set him up with his knitting kit. I like to get a pair of short straight needles and some yarn as a beginner knitting kit. I also cast on their first project and knit a row. That way The knit stitch is the fist thing they must learn. I also wanted a simple place he could go to see what to do, so I made this page.

I like the dishcloth as the first project because no matter how it turns out, it will still wash dishes. This is the most basic cloth – garter stitch.

I cast on 37 sts and knit the first row in the kit.

Andrew, here is my video tutorial on haw to do the knitting stitch:

https://youtu.be/6elHPv5QHt4?si=RFnod61wQYASyN2i

Knit tutorial CAWcreations

Knit every row until the cloth is as big as you want then bind off. I usually measure the width of the cloth and make it the same height so you have a square but you can do whatever you want. I used a larger needle size and cast on 37 stitches. It was a bit wide so I bound it off when I thought it was big enough. This is what mine looked like.

The following is a knit and bind off video tutorial:

CAWcreations Knit and Bind Off Tutorial (December 2023)

Good luck knitting Andrew!

Any questions email cherylann@cawcreations.org

One thought on “How to Knit A Dishcloth for Andrew

Leave a comment