Thursday Tour Day

Entertainment, Grand Palliadium Lady Hamilton, Jamaica, travel

Listening to the waves, bath then breakfast at Blue Lagoon. we got a different table this morning. We stayed for a few minutes after to enjoy the violin playing. A walk after breakfast helped to really feel invigorated for the day. We had booked the haunted tour of Rose Hall for 7:30 pm.

I was still windy and cold for the Jamaicans. I found the breeze so nice, especially since I was covering up to let my burn heal.We went to the adults only beach for the morning. I wrote the blog and read my book. Tim watched the people collecting sea glass. There are so many hermit crabs on the beach. It was engrossing to watch them.

Logo on shirt

Sitting on the beach Tim noticed a man wearing a dairy farmers of PEI T-shirt. Shows you how small the world really is. They own a Jersey dairy farm in Kensington. Jeanna was quilting. I was so glad to see someone else crafting on the beach. We had a long chat. Their daughter is looking after the farm and they are staying for two weeks this time. They come to the Grand Palladium every year.

When my burn got too warm. We headed back to the room to apply aloe gel. We met the woman who cleans our room and had a great chat. She folded Tim’s clothes on the bed. I joked that he should not get used to that. She has the next two days off but will be back Sunday. I cast on Coquilles Capelet for myself. I love the one I made for Olivia so much. I took a nap so I would not be sleepy for the night tour.

We had a late lunch/early supper at the Mobay buffet. I had roast chicken and a small square of bread pudding that I enjoyed. I was excited to see the crème brûlée, but it was not a version I liked. Then we went up to relax at the Infinity Terrace. We sat at the bar. It is so quiet there in the afternoon. Tim’s blue eyes popped with sea and sky behind him. We had our bartender make us a special drink before we went to meet our transfer at 5 pm. Traffic can be crazy though Montego Bay.

I want to cool off under that waterfall some day

Tevin our driver was waiting in the lobby when we arrived ten minutes early. He was so efficient and friendly. Tim sat up front and chatted with him. He is from Green Island nearer to Negril. We learned about his family and living in a small place with multigenerational family. I made it seem idyllic.

There is an election going on here. The parties are green and orange. Tevin gave us lots more details about each party. We got slowed down in Hopewell because there was a party for the greens.

I had to take a washroom break so we stopped at a mall complex just in Montego Bay. I ran in to the KFC. Tim and Tevin got drinks in the supermarket. This meant we drove through Montego Bay at sunsets Tevin took the lower road.

Sunset over Montego Bay

I love driving up to Rose Hall. We had to drive by and run around at a local taxi stop to get to the side of the road to go through the gate. Tim took a great video on the drive up. It was a bit surreal for me driving up the lane with Rose Hall sitting on the top of the hill in the twilight. It took a few minutes to check in and get our bracelets. There was a summer playing outside. I found myself grooving to the beat as I waited.

Tim and Tevin came along on the tour. Sophia was an excellent guide. She answered the kids questions but also kept her story going. The first thing she said was “I may be your tour guide but I am scared. If you scream I will run away!” It set exactly the right tone to walk up to Rose Hall in the kerosine torchlight.

Just below the stairs Sophie stopped so everybody could pose for the professional picture you could buy at the end of the tour. The tour had a good balance of history and jump scares by the ghosts. Slaves were required to whistle the whole time they served their owners. It was so the Annie Palmer would be sure they were not stealing food. You cannot whistle and eat at the same time. The whistling made for spooky ghost entrances.

Ladies and gentlemen ate from pewter plates containing lead. A scientific reason why Annie went crazy. There was a tunnel from under the stairs that went to the shore. It collapsed before the restoration. I loved the cloth wallpaper. It was amazing to see the detail of it in person. Videos do not do it justice. The tour ends at Annie’s grave.

Our drive back I sat in the front with Steven and talked their ears off. I was so wired after the tour. It was a perfect relaxing drive back, but we were jolted into reality by the noise of a bingo game at the theatre we walked to the Tranquility bar but decided to call it a night. It was an excellent excursion experience!

Leave a comment