Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

My thoughts on books I've read, reading

I absolutely loved Pathfinder. Orson Scott Card gave readers enough information to figure out what was going on just prior to the reveal. Each character was introduced with enough time for us to become invested with them before we met another. Rigg, the main character, spends his childhood hunting with “Father”; who also trains him in many subjects and subtle mannerisms as they walk through the woods hunting. Well trained to keep secrets only “Father” knows about Rigg’s ability to see the paths of every living creature, except for “Father’s”.

The sudden death of “Father” and Rigg’s attempt to rescue a local boy lead Rigg and the child’s brother Olson to leave their village and travel to the capital. Along the way they learn that Rigg’s education, although good, did not give him all the information. He must journey to find his sister and legacy with some help along the way.

I do not want to give too much away. Suffice to say this is my favorite of Orson Scott Card’s books. I enthusiastically recommend this book!

Leave a comment